Professional Firefighters of Wisconsin Charitable Foundation

Working to create a fire-safe and burn-free Wisconsin

Fire Safety Poster & Essay Contest Winners Announced!

Student Poster Contest

Congratulations to this year’s fire safety student poster contest winners! We were blown away by a record number of entries this year with 411 submissions from students all across the state, up from 357 last year. Posters were judged based on the effectiveness of fire safety, artistic ability, and creativity. Congratulations to all!


1st: Opel Buzzell – Waukesha, WI

2nd: Kahlan Bouzek – La Crosse, WI

3rd: MacArthur Roltgen – Verona, WI

1st Grade

1st: Avah Fargen – Richland Center, WI

2nd: Williamson Gillespie – Washington Island, WI

3rd: Brooke Todd – Mukwonago, WI

2nd Grade

1st: Ava Friermark – Appleton, WI

2nd: Avery Rooney – Amherst, WI

3rd: Curtis Mani – Richland Center, WI

3rd Grade

1st: Freya Sorensen – Washington Island, WI

2nd: Liam Ciganek – Hubertus, WI

3rd: Vivien Collins – Hubertus, WI

4th Grade

1st: Sandi Go – Brookfield, WI

2nd: Brayden Buenier – Hubertus, WI

3rd: Stella Roltgen – Verona, WI

5th Grade

1st: Eliana Serenock – Wausau, WI

2nd: Elena Chenous – Argyle, WI

3rd: Emiliano Aragon – Appleton, WI

6th Grade

1st: Madeline Driscoll – Lancaster, WI

2nd: Elsie Baumann – Wausau, WI

3rd: Brady Bruno – Milwaukee, WI

7th Grade

1st: Alexa Gilson – Wisconsin Rapids, WI

2nd: Marge Hartlund – Hubertus, WI

3rd: Mia Cuevas – Milwaukee, WI

8th Grade

1st: Melanie Barron – Milwaukee, WI

2nd: Mohammed Oden – Milwaukee, WI

3rd: River Garry – Milwaukee, WI

9th Grade

1st: Dakota Ciskowski – Waupaca, WI

10th Grade

1st: Benjamin Collins – Monticello, WI

2nd: Catalina DeSua – Jackson, WI

11th Grade


12th Grade

1st: Katelyn Eyler – Monticello, WI

2nd: Carter Wirth – Monticello, WI


Teacher Essay Contest

Congratulations, also, to the educators dedicated to educating Wisconsin’s youth on the dangers of fire. Thank you for all you do to promote fire safety to the next generation. We are pleased to award the following teachers with prizes for their hard work and dedication.

1st Place: Jeannie Fletcher – Rio, WI

2nd Place: Jenise Nolte – Appleton, WI

3rd Place: Kandy Wunschel – Argyle, WI

4th Place: Lucy Hartnell – Kenosha, WI