Professional Firefighters of Wisconsin Charitable Foundation

Working to create a fire-safe and burn-free Wisconsin

33rd Annual Fire Safety Recognition Luncheon

Join us for the 33rd annual Fire Safety Recognition Luncheon on Monday, October 9th, 2023 from 11 a.m. to 1:00 p.m at the SportClub in downtown Milwaukee. Tickets for this event are free and includes lunch. While this event is free, we ask that you RSVP online here.

Do you know a fire safety standout? NOMINATIONS FOR AWARDS ARE STILL OPEN!

Nominate here:…/fire-safety…

Dan Gengler Fire Sprinkler Advocacy Award – Recognizes people and organizations for their work to advocate for and overcome the barriers to fire sprinkler systems in the future generations of homes. This award is named after Dan Gengler, one of the founders of the Wisconsin Alliance for Fire Safety, a retired Deputy Chief with the Milwaukee Fire Department, and former North Central Regional Manager with the National Fire Sprinkler Association. Dan built just about everything we do today. He has not only made fire safety and fire sprinkler advocacy his life’s work, but his passion.

Bosanko Brothers Support Award – Recognizes those who support us year after year. They are the backbone of this organization and provide significant support that makes a difference in the lives of the people we serve. Formerly referred to as the PFFWCF Support Award, this award was newly renamed after the Bosanko Brothers this year. The Bosanko Brothers are the embodiment of support and have spent decades supporting the mission of the Fire Fighters Foundation and formerly the Wisconsin Alliance of Fire Safety.

PFFWCF Corporate Responsibility Award – Recognizes a company or organization that has gone above and beyond to help the Fire Fighters Foundation work towards our mission of championing support for burn survivors, fire fighters, and safe communities statewide.

Legislator of the Year Award – Recognizes an elected official who has gone above and beyond to help us promote fire safety in Wisconsin.

Joe Vorce Career Safety Award – Recognizes an outstanding individual who represents Joe’s courageous attitude and dedication to promoting fire-safety across Wisconsin. The Joe Vorce Career Safety Award is named for a person whose commitment to fire safety is accentuated by their dedication and loyalty to the mission of the Fire Fighters Foundation.  Joe was a charter member of the Wisconsin Alliance for Fire Safety who helped shape many of the Alliance’s programs and their direction.  Joe, a committed volunteer, was sadly taken from us in 2004 after a courageous battle with cancer.

Larry Ceretto Fire Safety Education Award – Recognizes a fire department whose commitment to fire safety has attained the high level of quality and integrity that had been characteristic of one of Wisconsin’s most admired in the fire service: Larry Ceretto, retired Deputy Chief of the Milwaukee Fire Department, retired Milwaukee Area Technical College dean of the Fire Science Program, and person of classic distinction.  His dedication to duty and loyalty to the missions of his commitments accentuate the core purpose of the Fire Fighters Foundation.

Media Award – Recognizes a media organization that has shown strong commitment and dedication to promoting fire safety in the state of Wisconsin.

In addition to these awards, we will be recognizing milestones in years of volunteering for our Summer Camp for Burn Injured Youth staff.